UPDATE: Recent Awards & Honors

UPDATE: New Awards and Honors:

Assistant professor Erich Sommerfeldt received a Tier I Award from the Division of Research at the University of Maryland. The $10,000 award will be used to support the research project "Emergent Approaches to Communication Strategy Development Agents in Authoritarian Environments."

Professor James F. Klumpp (below, second from left) received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Kenneth Burke Society. The award "recognizes extraordinary achievement in Burke Studies over a number of years." The award was presented at the triennial Burke Society conference in St. Louis, MO. In addition to his award, Klumpp presented a paper entitled "Rhetoric and Social Order: Burkean Revisions in the Problems of Social Change." Also presenting at the conference was Ph.D. student Annie-Laurie Nichols (below, second from right). Also pictured are Ph.D. alumnae M. Karen Walker (left) and Jean Miller (right).


Professor & chair, Elizabeth Toth, as principal investigator, received an award of $13,525 from the Commission on Public Relations Education to examine the impact of the Commission's standards for masters of public relations education programs. Dr. Toth will also ascend to the presidency of the Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication at the AEJMC meeting in August.

Incoming assistant professor Lindsey Anderson received the Cooper Award (Doctoral) from the Central States Communication Association at their meeting in Minneapolis in April. The Cooper Award is named after former CSCA President Pamela J. Cooper and is presented to one M.A. level graduate teaching assistant and one Ph.D. level graduate teaching assistant for outstanding teaching. At the annual convention, the recipients receive a $50 cash award and a certificate. Read more about Dr. Anderson's award here.

http://www.comm.umd.edu/sites/comm.umd.edu/files/ELF%20ICA%20Award.jpgProfessor Edward L. Fink has been named an ICA Fellow. The designation was made at the annual meeting of the International Communication Association in Seattle. Fink joins 95 other Communication scholars who have been named an ICA Fellow.

Fellow status in the International Communication Association is primarily a recognition of distinguished scholarly contributions to the broad field of communication. The primary consideration for nomination to Fellow status is a documented record of scholarly achievement. Secondary consideration is given to such criteria as service to the ICA and socially or professionally significant service to other publics such as business, government, education, etc.

0 Comment(s) to the "UPDATE: Recent Awards & Honors"