Terp Awards @ NCA, 2019

Congratulations to the following Terps who received awards and accolades at the NCA Annual Convention:

Lindsey B. Anderson, Elizabeth E. Gardner (Ph.D., 2016), Andrew D. Wolvin, Rowena Kirby-Straker (Ph.D., 2014), Distinguished Article Award, Basic Course Division, for "Incorporating Learning Analytics Into Basic Course Administration: How to Embrace the Opportunity to Identify Inconsistencies and Inform Responses," Journal of the Association of Communication Administration, 35 (1), 2-14. 

Jason Edward Black (Ph.D., 2006), Outstanding Book Award, Communication & Sport Division, and the Outstanding Book Award, American Studies Division, for Mascot Nation: The Controversy over Native American Representations in Sports, published by the University of Illinois Press, 2018.

M. Kelly Carr (Ph.D., 2010), The Kohrs-Campbell Prize in Rhetorical Criticism, from Michigan State University Press, for The Rhetorical Invention of Diversity: Supreme Court Opinions, Public Arguments, and Affirmative Action, published by Michigan State University Press, 2018.

Theresa Donofrio (Ph.D., 2013) and Alyssa Samek (Ph.D., 2012), Outstanding Article Award, American Studies Division, for “Jeopardized Bodies: Representations of Race, Gender, and Mortality in the Notorious R.B.G.” published in Women’s Studies in Communication in 2019.

Dale Hample, the Gerald R. Miller Book Award, Interpersonal Communication Division, for Interpersonal Arguing, published by Peter Lang, 2018.

Matthew Salzano, Laureate, James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

Belinda Stillion Southard (Ph.D., 2008), The Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award, Public Address Division, for How to Belong: Women’s Agency in a Transnational World, published by Penn State University Press, 2018.

Carly Woods, the James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address, for the book Debating Women: Gender, Education, and Spaces for Argument, 1835-1945 (Michigan State University Press, 2018).

Michelle Murray Yang, 2019 Early Career Award, Association for Chinese Communication Studies.


Randall Fowler, Top Student Papers Panel, International & Intercultural Communication

Jeremy Grossman, Top Papers Panel, Rhetorical & Communication Theory

Matthew Salzano, Top Papers Panel, Feminist & Women's Studies

Anita Atwell Seate, Allison Chatham, Jungkyu Rhys Lim, Duli Shi, Lingyan Ma, and Xiaojing Wang, Top Papers Panel, Public Relations

Michelle Murray Yang, Top Papers Panel, Visual Communication




0 Comment(s) to the "Terp Awards @ NCA, 2019"