Terp Success at AEJMC

UM Department of Communication faculty members and graduate students received awards and participated in research panels at the 100th annual convention of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC). Professor and chair Elizabeth Toth co-authored an essay with Ph.D. student Rowena Briones entitled "The State of PR Graduate Curriculum as We Know It: A Longitudinal Analysis," that received second place in the teaching paper competition in the Public Relations Division.

Associate professor Xiaoli Nan was the co-author of paper entitled "The Reader's Willingness to Comment on Online News Articles: A Study of the Individual's Behavioral Responses in Light of Media Effects Theories and Online News." Ph.D. student Kelly Madden presented a paper entitled "Examining News Coverage of HPV Vaccine Policies: Can Outrageous Claims Shift Journalists’ Focus?" Ph.D. student Michael Paquette presented a research paper entitled "A Fight for Legitimacy: A Case of the 2011 Education Union Crisis." And Ph.D. student Melissa Janoske co-authored an analysis with associate professor Brooke Fisher Liu entitled "Enacting Best Practices in Risk Communication: Analysis of an Expert Panel."

Ph.D. student Rowena Briones also received the 2012 Barrows Scholarship Award, sponsored by the Communication Theory & Methodology Division. And Professor Elizabeth Toth received the "Lifetime Achievement Award" from the Public Relations Division.

0 Comment(s) to the "Terp Success at AEJMC"